Thursday, October 18, 2012

Forbidden Fire Blog Tour: guest post

We host the Forbidden Fire Blog Tour today. This book is the second title in The Forbidden Trilogy by Kimberly Kinrade. The author has written a guest post for us and we have a special announcement about this trilogy. Welcome!

Forbidden Fire (The Forbidden Trilogy #2) by Kimberly Kinrade
YA fantasy*paperback (284 pages) & e-book*Publisher: Evolved Publishing (March 27, 2012)

“Time held no meaning as my mind darted in and out of memories. Past and present collided to create a full-sensory collage out of my life: playing hide-n-seek with my best friends Luke—who always cheated by walking through walls when he was about to be caught—and Lucy; Mr. Caldrin critiquing my sketches and offering ideas to make them more realistic; targets changing faces, blending into the same person, their thoughts rippling through my mind like waves. Through it all, a demon stalked me from the shadows of my memories, never quite showing its face, but crouching, waiting.

And then I dreamed....”

Sam and Drake may have escaped, but they aren’t free—not with a powerful Seeker after them. As Sam struggles with the ethics of her new powers and embraces a blossoming physical relationship with Drake, Lucy and Luke face challenges of their own.

With forces coalescing inside and outside the Rent-A-Kid dorms, it’s only a matter of time before the fire they started forces each of them to make choices they can’t undo. But will it be enough to save them?

Leaving Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia were always my favorite books growing up. (They still are, actually!) But they always made me so sad.

Namely because at the end, the characters I’d invested my emotions into always had to leave Narnia.

I understand now that it’s part of the hero’s journey. It’s the last step one must take, going back to your old world wiser and more skillful. Changed.

But how?

How do you go from being a grown King or Queen in Narnia, with talking beasts and tree nymphs and magic, back to war-ridden England? And now a kid again to boot! How do you find any cohesiveness in yourself after that kind of reality shift?

Even just being a kid reading the books, I dived so deeply into the world that the ending always shook me. I didn’t want to go back. To my world. To my reality. I wanted to stay in Narnia and be Queen and rule in peace and prosperity. I wanted to chase white stags and roam the countryside talking to the trees. I wanted a world different than the one in which I lived.

I largely still do. And herein resides the major reason most of us are unhappy. We are all secretly pining away for our own version of Narnia.

It’s “the grass is always greener” syndrome. That somehow that magical world will bring me more happiness than my boring ordinary one with dishes and laundry and noisy kids and chore after chore after chore.

If I lived in Narnia, all would be better.

But it’s not really true, is it? Narnia would have its own share of problems. (Like the fact that they subsisted on a largely British diet. No offense to my British friends, but I can think of better cuisines to emulate!)

The point is to be happy now. In the Narnia you have, not the Narnia you dream about. Narnia is the magic filled wonder of those simple moments in life that hold the all the happiness we could ever imagine. If we allow ourselves to experience it.

So I’m tasking myself to see the Narnia in those simple moments. To live in my own Narnia, and find the magic that already exists in my life.

Though I do hope my books make people wish they could stay in them forever! I also hope you will find magic in those times you aren’t reading. Those times you are doing dishes with your lover or holding your child and talking. My books are full of magic, but none that is as real as the magic you have right now in your kitchen!

Onward and upward!

About the author:
Kimberly Kinrade
Twitter | IPI Academy Twitter | Facebook | IPI Academy Facebook | Email:

Kimberly Kinrade was born with ink in her veins and magic in her heart. She writes fantasy and paranormal stories for children, YA and adults and still believes in magic worlds. Check out her YA paranormal novels Forbidden Mind and Forbidden Fire and her illustrated children's fantasy chapter books Lexie World, and Bella World, all on Amazon.

She lives with her three little girls who think they're ninja princesses with super powers, her two dogs who think they're humans and her husband, also known as the sexy Russian Prince, who is the love of her life and writing partner.

For a list of her books, check out: Amazon author page & Website
For a fun fan experience, join the team at I.P.I.  
For kids and parents of young kids, join the Lost Kids  

The rest of the tour:
The complete tour list can be found here

Coming up next for Kimberly Kinrade:
The next tour for Kimberly is on Nov 26th as a review blitz followed by 6 weeks of ongoing tour.

All three Forbidden books plus extra bonus content will be available on November 26, 2012. This is its own book, with its own ebook, paperback and eventually hardback. It will include all three Forbidden books in it, plus bonus content, interlude scenes between the books and more.

Here is the: Review Blitz sign up | 
6 week tour sign up 

"A thrilling, dark and deeply romantic read." ~Refracted Light Young Adult Book Reviews

"The plot is very ALIAS and DARK ANGEL-like with X-MEN as its backdrop (awesome combo!)." ~Sour Skittles Book Blog

Paranormal teens with unimaginable powers. A secret organization with deadly intentions. When Sam, a girl who reads minds, meets Drake, a boy who controls minds, they discover their lives aren't what they thought.

Together, they must escape their fate and free their friends, before they lose everyone they love.

This special edition omnibus includes the entire Forbidden Trilogy--Forbidden Mind, Forbidden Fire and Forbidden Life, as well as extensive bonus content. Meet the author in an in-depth Q&A, get to know your favorite characters better, enjoy never-before-revealed interlude scenes and so much more.

Available through Evolved Publishing November 26, 2012. Look for it in ebook, paperback and hardback.