Saturday, July 25, 2015

Picture book review: Z Is for Moose (Moose #1) Story by Kelly Bingham, Illustrations by Paul O. Zelinsky @GreenwillowBook

Z Is for Moose (Moose #1)
by Kelly Bingham, Paul O. Zelinsky (Illustrator)
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published February 28th 2012 by Greenwillow Books

Caldecott Medalist Zelinsky illustrates an outrageously funny and boundary-breaking story for fans of Jon Scieszka and David Weisner. Zebra wants to put on a show as simple as A-B-C, but Zebra's friend Moose has other (unexpected and hilarious) ideas. Full color.

In Z Is For Moose, everyone has known or dealt with someone just like Moose. Someone who is pushy, seeking attention and wants to steal the show. Moose is a bundle of energy and he keeps insisting to be included in every shot of Zebra's alphabet book. Poor Zebra is going to run out of patience and by the time he gets to the letter "M", Moose is shocked to find out it's not his time. What happened? Zebra changed his mind and chose a mouse instead.

What? That's what Moose says and has a huge temper tantrum over many of the remaining letters, messing up the other animal's chances for their one page starring role. Z Is For Moose is adorable and realistic in its depiction of anger and temper tantrums. 

Kids will definitely relate and Kelly Bingham's story ends on a nice note with Zebra wanting to help out his friend Moose. I loved how Paul O. Zelinsky drew the animals with such bold colors and made each their own unique character. I especially liked Moose. By the end of the book, he has humorously made himself sympathetic.

Rating: 4 of 5
Cover comment: So cute.
Book source: Library

No comments:

Post a Comment