Saturday, July 25, 2015

Picture book review: The Bear Ate Your Sandwich by Julia Sarcone-Roach @AAKnopf


The Bear Ate Your Sandwich
by Julia Sarcone-Roach
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published January 6th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.

By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich.
But you may not know how it happened.
So let me tell you.
It all started with the bear . . .


So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach’s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear’s journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it’s not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale.

The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach’s best book to date. You’ll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch).



The word charming best exemplifies my feelings about The Bear Ate Your Sandwich
by Julia Sarcone-Roach. Other words quickly come to mind like vibrant, loving, special and whimsical. This is an instant classic. I was completely taken with this story from the unseen narrator and the gorgeous visuals to the ending. The orange red truck, the splashes of yellow across pages, how the bear travels from the back of a truck across the Golden Gate Bridge and wakes up in a city. What an incredibly different forest he finds himself in when he awakens.

Children will adore this picture book and so will those who read it to them. I won't give away the ending but The Bear Who Ate Your Sandwich is a definite keeper. I could stare at Roach's illustrations for hours, they're so soft and vibrant. The water color effect of the art has this very cool freshly painted brush effect. The forest has such a surreal appearance. And the story--as I already stated--is absolutely charming. I loved it! Classic. Simply a classic.

Rating: 5 of 5
Cover comment: This is what I mean by whimsy, THIS! Look at this bear! His expression.
Book source: Library

No comments:

Post a Comment