Friday, September 28, 2012

So Into You Blog Tour: review & giveaway



Fans of Jane Austen and YA books will want to read Cecilia Gray's "retelling"  series of Austen's classic stories for today's modern reader. The second book, So Into You, is on tour and we're one of the stops on the tour presented by AToMR Book Blog Tours. There's a giveaway too an it's open internationally.

So Into You (The Jane Austen Academy series, #2) by Cecilia Gray

ebook, 125 pagesPublished July 15th 2012 by The Alpha Division, LLC

Modern retelling/based on Sense & Sensibility.



The last thing that the girls at the elite Jane Austen Academy need is guys. But over the summer the school has been sold, and like it or not, the guys are coming. And they're about to turn the Academy—and the lives of its students—totally upside down…


Meet sweet and sensible Ellie who hasn’t met a problem her mom’s yoga mantras can’t fix. But when her parents threaten to pull her from the Academy just as her flirtation with the cutest boy in school heats up, will Ellie be able to keep her cool? 

About the author:
Cecilia Gray

Cecilia Gray lives in Oakland where she reads, writes and breaks for food. She also pens her biographies in the third person. Like this. As if to trick you into thinking someone else wrote it because she is important. Alas, this is not the case.


Cecilia has been praised for “instilling a warmth and weight into her characters” (Romancing The Book Reviews) and her books have been praised for being “well-written, original, realistic and witty” (Quills & Zebras Reviews).


Several of her titles - including A Delightful Arrangement (The Gentlemen Next Door #1) and An Illicit Engagement (The Gentlemen Next Door #2) - have spent, in her view, a shocking amount of time on bestseller lists for romance, historical romance and regency romance in the US, UK, Italy and Spain.

Her latest release, Fall For You, the first in a series of young-adult contemporary Jane Austen retellings received a starred Kirkus review and was praised for being a “unique twist on a classic” and offering “a compelling mix of action, drama and love.”

She’s rather enamored of being contacted by readers and hopes you’ll oblige.

Review:
I love Jane Austen's library of books but I have not always enjoyed some of the re-imaginings I've read over time. For me, many lack the essence or spirit of the original work. So I jumped at the chance to read Cecilia Gray's updated stories for the young adult market. In my review for the first book, Fall For You, I said I enjoyed the story but wished it was longer. With So Into You, I don't feel the same way. The length, which worked for me, was fine. I liked Ellie from book one and was glad to see her with her own story. She is intelligent, insightful and considerate. With the start of the new school year, Jasta students have had to endure a lot. The school is now coed and the name is supposed to be changed. Settling into her schedule, Ellie learns some upsetting news which may impact her attraction to Edward. Without giving anything away, I do have to say Cecilia Gray's So Into You captured the spirit of Jane Austen's remarkable female characters, in particular one of my favorites, Miss Eleanor Dashwood with Ellie. I am a fan and look forward to reading the next in the series.

Rating: 3.5

Cover comment: Oh yes, this one is very romantic and fun.

Book source: I received an ebook copy from the author for my honest review during a book tour.

Giveaway: 

OPEN INTERNATIONALLY: Fall For You and So Into You eBook (or choice from Cecilia's collection).
a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 comments:

  1. I have enjoyed some Jane Austen inspired stories and this looks like a good one.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Looks great! I would love to read this.

    felecia@twinoaksfl.org

    ReplyDelete