Monday, July 27, 2015

The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams with excerpt #legendsoforkney #TheRedSun @BookSparks @AlaneAdamsBooks


The Red Sun: Legends of Orkney by Alane Adams
Middle Grade/YA fantasy

Paperback, eBook, 346 pages

Publisher: SparkPress (August 4, 2015)


After meeting a strange dwarf in his garage and finding out his substitute English teacher is a witch, twelve-year-old Sam Baron travels through a stonefire to the magical realm of Orkney where he finally learns the truth about his past: his mother is a witch and his father is a descendant of the Norse god, Odin.

Saturday, July 25, 2015

Picture book review: The Bear Ate Your Sandwich by Julia Sarcone-Roach @AAKnopf


The Bear Ate Your Sandwich
by Julia Sarcone-Roach
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published January 6th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.

By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich.
But you may not know how it happened.
So let me tell you.
It all started with the bear . . .

Picture book review: Toucan Can! by Juliette MacIver, Sarah Davis (Illustrations) @geckopress


Toucan Can!
by Juliette MacIver, Sarah Davis (Illustrations)
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published March 1st 2014 by Gecko Press (first published February 1st 2014)

A mad-cap, wacky picture book frolic with Toucan as he demonstrates all the things he can do! A tongue-twisting, high-energy, ludicrous rhyme full of hilarity and off-the-wall characters. Toucan can do lots of things. Toucan dances, Toucan sings. Toucan bangs a frying pan. Can YOU do what Toucan can?